Association of Independent Latin American and Caribbean States. A formal climate negotiating group consisting of six forward-looking and environmentally ambitious countries: Colombia, Costa Rica, Chile, Peru, Guatemala, Panama and Paraguay, created at COP18 in Doha. Their objective is to bridge the North-South divide that has been blocking climate change negotiations, by pushing all countries to commit to binding cuts in CO2 emissions. They have decided to go ahead with ambitious actions, with our without emissions reductions pledges or financial support from wealthier countries. The group has been considered a "third way" in the North-South, poor-rich divide in climate change negotiations, or a "revolt from the middle" since it is neither the wealthiest nor the poorest group of countries.