Annex I Parties

The UNFCCC categorizes the parties as Annex I, Annex II and non-Annex 1. Annex I includes the 24 original OECD members, the European Union, and 14 countries with economies in transition (EIT Parties), including the Russian Federation, the Baltic States, and several Central and Eastern European States. They have agreed to work towards reducing GHG emissions and improve their GHG sinks and reservoirs. Only Annex I countries are obliged to undertake mitigation actions, and have binding emissions reduction targets under the Kyoto Protocol (see Annex B Parties). 

Sources: (list of Annex I countries)