Arab group

A negotiating group including the 22 member states of the League of Arab States. The League of Arab States is a regional organization of Arab countries that was founded in Cairo in 1945 by Egypt, Iraq, Lebanon, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Transjordan (Jordan from 1946/49) and Yemen. For the 2015 Paris agreement the group stresses the incorporation of all six elements identified in the Durban Mandate (see also ADP): mitigation and adaptation, finance, capacity-building, technology development and transfer, transparency of action and support, as well as loss and damage. They argue for the agreement not to be mitigation centered. (similar view compared to LMDCs)

Sources:                            (list of member countries of the Arab League) (statement by the group from 2013)