Brazil, South Africa, India and China. The BASIC countries are a bloc of four large newly industrialized countries, initiated by China and formed by an agreement in November 2009. The four countries committed to act jointly at COP15 in Copenhagen, including a possible collective walk-out from the negotiations if their common minimum position was not met by the developed countries. BASIC played a central role in reorientating the whole process and the drafting of the final Copenhagen Accord together with the United States. The group has worked to define a common position on emission reductions and climate finance; demanding developed countries to allow developing countries "equitable space for development" as well as providing them with financial, technological and capacity-building support, based upon their "historical responsibility" for climate change.

Read more about BASIC on: