Kyoto mechanisms

Three procedures established under the Kyoto Protocol to increase the flexibility and reduce the costs of making greenhouse-gas emissions cuts. These mechanisms include the Clean Development Mechanism, Emissions Trading and Joint Implementation (see also CDM, Emissions Trading and JI). These three mechanisms allow countries that are Parties to the Kyoto Protocol to reduce emissions cost-effectively, or remove carbon dioxide (CO2) from the atmosphere, in other countries where mitigation efforts are less expensive. Through implementing emission reduction projects in developing countries (or another developed country), developed countries can earn credits (see CRE, ERU and RMU) which can be used to meet their emission targets under the Kyoto Protocol.