Subsidiary Body. A committee that assists the Conference of the Parties (COP), that is either permanent or temporary. Two permanent subsidiary bodies have been created under the Convention: the Subsidiary Body for Implementation (SBI) and the Subsidiary Body for Scientific and Technological Advice (SBSTA). Examples of two major temporary bodies (that now have concluded their work) are the Ad Hoc Working Group on Further Commitments for Annex I Parties under the Kyoto Protocol (AWG-KP), established at COP 11 in Montreal, and the Ad Hoc Working Group on Long-term Cooperative Action under the Convention (AWG-LCA), established at COP 13 in Bali. A temporary body existing today is the Ad hoc Working Group on the Durban Platform for Enhanced Action (ADP). Additional subsidiary bodies may be established when needed.

Sources: (general sources)                                                                                 

Learn more on: (the AWG-KP)               (the AWG-LCA)               

See also ADP