Umbrella group

A loose coalition of non-European Union developed countries formed after the adoption of the Kyoto Protocol. There is no formal membership list, but the group usually includes Australia, Canada, Iceland, Japan, Iceland, New Zealand, Norway, Russia, Ukraine, and the United States. The Umbrella Group evolved from the JUSSCANNZ (an acronym for Japan, the US, Switzerland, Canada, Australia, Norway and New Zealand) group, which was active during the negotiations of the Kyoto Protocol. The Group's stance on climate change can be considered less enthusiastic than most other developed country sigantories to the Kyoto Protocol, and according to some tends to bloc any real action on the issue. The Group insists that developing countries should make significant emission reduction commitments along with the developed countries, despite the rich countries' historical responsibility.